Latest News

April 18, 2018

Field Notes for April 18, 2018

By the Numbers: There will be 156 players in the field when the competition begins on Thursday. After 36-holes are completed, the field will be cut to the low 70 scores and ties. Only those players making the 36-hole cut will be eligible for earnings from the tournament’s $6.2 million purse.

Coming to San Antonio Hot: RBC Heritage runner-up Si Woo Kim leads a group of six players who finished in the top ten Sunday at the TOUR stop in Hilton Head, SC which includes Luke List (T3), Billy Horschel (T5), Kevin Streelman (T7), Bill Haas (T7) and Chesson Hadley (T7).

Major Champions: There are 12 major championship winners in the field—Keegan Bradley (PGA Championship), Stewart Cink (Open Championship), Ernie Els (Open Championship, U.S. Open), Jim Furyk (U.S. Open), Sergio Garcia (Masters), Retief Goosen (Two U.S. Opens), Zach Johnson (Masters, Open Championship), Martin Kaymer (PGA Championship, U.S. Open), Graeme McDowell (U.S. Open), Geoff Ogilvy (U.S. Open), Adam Scott (Masters), Jimmy Walker (PGA Championship).

Monday Qualifiers: The Monday qualifying was held at Briggs Ranch Golf Club. Joshua Creel, Troy Matteson, Paul McConnell and Curtis Reed were the final four players to earn a spot in the field.

Texas Collegiate Connections: Baylor University—Jimmy Walker; Lamar University—Chris Stroud, Shawn Stefani; TCU—J.J. Henry, Tom Hoge; Texas A&M—Ryan Palmer, Cameron Champ; University of Houston—Jesse Droemer; University of Texas—Jhonattan Vegas, Dylan Frittelli, Cody Gribble, Beau Hossler.

Sponsor Exemption Stories: There are several good storylines among this year’s sponsor exemption list. Local resident Cameron Champ is one of them. Champ practices at the TPC San Antonio AT&T Oaks Course when in town. The former Texas A&M player qualified for the 2017 U.S. Open, where he was T4 through 36 holes before finishing T32 and led the field in driving distance... Joaquin Niemann will be making his professional debut here. The Chile native is the former No.1 ranked amateur in the world.

International Flavor: There are 22 different countries and 44 international players in the field this week.

FedExCup Champions: Former FedExCup champions Jim Furyk (2010), Bill Haas (2011), Brandt Snedeker (2012) and Billy Horschel (2014) are in the field.

FedExCup History at the VTO: Each year, the Valero Texas Open proves pivotal in the race for the FedExCup. Since being moved to its current spot on the schedule in 2009, the winner of the Valero Texas Open has made it through at least two Playoff events seven of nine times. Kevin Chappell (2017), Jimmy Walker (2015), Adam Scott (2010) and Zach Johnson (2009) made it through to the season-ending TOUR Championship.


Valero Energy Corporation, through its subsidiaries, is an international manufacturer and marketer of transportation fuels and other petrochemical products. Valero, a Fortune 50 company based in San Antonio, Texas, with approximately 10,000 employees, is an independent petroleum refiner and ethanol producer, and its assets include 15 petroleum refineries with a combined throughput capacity of approximately 3.1 million barrels per day and 11 ethanol plants with a combined production capacity of 1.45 billion gallons per year. The petroleum refineries are located in the United States (“U.S.”), Canada, and the United Kingdom (“U.K.”), and the ethanol plants are located in the Mid-Continent region of the U.S. In addition, Valero owns the 2 percent general partner interest and a majority limited partner interest in the Partnership, a midstream master limited partnership. Valero sells its products in both the wholesale rack and bulk markets, and approximately, 7,400 outlets carry Valero’s brand names in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K., and Ireland. Please visit for more information.


The Valero Texas Open is the 6th oldest professional tournament in golf world-wide, the 3rd oldest on the PGA TOUR and the longest held in the same city. In 2012, the tournament celebrated its 90th anniversary.

Its list of champions includes some of the greatest names in golf history: Walter Hagen, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, Sam Snead, Arnold Palmer, Ben Crenshaw, Hale Irwin, Lee Trevino, Nick Price, Justin Leonard, Zach Johnson, Adam Scott, Jimmy Walker and 2018 champion Andrew Landry, to name a few.

Since Valero became title sponsor in 2002, the tournament has become a leader in charitable fundraising among PGA TOUR events. The Valero Texas Open together with the Benefit for Children eclipsed the $100 million mark in charitable giving in 2015, becoming the fourth PGA TOUR event to do so. Raising a record $12 million in 2018, the tournament has now contributed more than $138 million to hundreds of worthy charities.

Media Contacts

Stephanie Sage
Director of Marketing & Community Relations

210.345.3839 office

Lee Patterson
Media Director

704.553.4790 mobile