Latest News

April 13, 2017

Valero Texas Open E-Notes For April 13, 2017

Brooks Koepka Commits Today: This morning, Brooks Koepka, ranked 23rd in the world, committed. Koepka has been playing well as of late—in his last two starts he finished tied for 9th at the WGC-Dell Match Play and tied for 11th at the Masters Tournament.

Major Champions In The Field:  Valero Texas Open officials are pleased to announce the addition of four Major Champions to next week’s field -- Keegan Bradley (2011 PGA Championship), Stewart Cink (2009 Open Championship), Retief Goosen (2001 & 2004 U.S. Open), Geoff Ogilvy (2006 U.S. Open). The tournament now boasts a total of nine Major Champions announced to date.

Notable International Competitors: Several international players have also been added, Byeong Hun “Ben” An (South Korea), Aaron Baddeley (Australia), K.J. Choi (South Korea), Ryo Ishikawa (Japan), Freddie Jacobson (Sweden), Sung Kang (South Korea), Soren Kjeldsen (Denmark), Danny Lee (New Zealand), C.T. Pan (Chinese Taipei), Seamus Power (Ireland), John Senden (Australia), Cameron Smith (Australia), Nick Taylor (Canada), Tyrone Van Aswegen (South Africa), Camilo Villegas (Colombia).

Facts & Figures:  With the year’s first major championship completed, here is a list of Valero Texas Open champions who have also won the Masters Tournament and/or the U.S. Open which will be the next major championship played this year. There are a total of ten players for each of the two majors: Masters—Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, Sam Snead, Jack Burke, Jr., Arnold Palmer, Ben Crenshaw, Tom Watson, Mark O’Meara, Zach Johnson and Adam Scott. U.S. Open—Walter Hagen, Byron Nelson, Lawson Little, Ben Hogan, Gene Littler, Arnold Palmer, Hale Irwin, Lee Trevino, Tom Watson and Corey Pavin.

Dash to the VTO:  Don’t forget the inaugural Dash to the VTO is this Saturday, April 15 at TPC San Antonio. Participants will get a sneak preview of the tournament course and the tournament setup as they run/walk their way through the 10k, 5k and 1 mile course.  Registration is still open through and participants receive a Dash to the VTO t-shirt, chipped bib number and a Good-Any-One-Day ticket to attend the Valero Texas Open, April 20-23.

Champion Update: The Masters Tournament was an interesting week for Charley Hoffman. His opening 7-under-par 65 gave him the first-round lead and he stayed in contention until midway through the final round. Hoffman finished tied for 22nd. Hoffman has now played in four Masters, has made the cut in all of them and has never finished out of the top 30. His best finish was a T9 in 2015.

Did You Know?: With Jimmy Walker’s major championship victory at the 2016 PGA Championship, he also became the fifth champion of the Valero Texas Open since 2007, who also owns a major championship title—joining Justin Leonard 2007 VTO & 1997 Open Championship; Zach Johnson 2008 & 2009 VTO, 2007 Masters & 2015 Open Championship; Adams Scott, 2010 VTO & 2013 Masters; Ben Curtis 2012 VTO & 2003 Open Championship.


Valero Energy Corporation, through its subsidiaries, is an international manufacturer and marketer of transportation fuels and other petrochemical products. Valero, a Fortune 50 company based in San Antonio, Texas, with approximately 10,000 employees, is an independent petroleum refiner and ethanol producer, and its assets include 15 petroleum refineries with a combined throughput capacity of approximately 3.1 million barrels per day and 11 ethanol plants with a combined production capacity of 1.45 billion gallons per year. The petroleum refineries are located in the United States (“U.S.”), Canada, and the United Kingdom (“U.K.”), and the ethanol plants are located in the Mid-Continent region of the U.S. In addition, Valero owns the 2 percent general partner interest and a majority limited partner interest in the Partnership, a midstream master limited partnership. Valero sells its products in both the wholesale rack and bulk markets, and approximately, 7,400 outlets carry Valero’s brand names in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K., and Ireland. Please visit for more information.


The Valero Texas Open is the 6th oldest professional tournament in golf world-wide, the 3rd oldest on the PGA TOUR and the longest held in the same city. In 2012, the tournament celebrated its 90th anniversary.

Its list of champions includes some of the greatest names in golf history: Walter Hagen, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, Sam Snead, Arnold Palmer, Ben Crenshaw, Hale Irwin, Lee Trevino, Nick Price, Justin Leonard, Zach Johnson, Adam Scott, Jimmy Walker and 2018 champion Andrew Landry, to name a few.

Since Valero became title sponsor in 2002, the tournament has become a leader in charitable fundraising among PGA TOUR events. The Valero Texas Open together with the Benefit for Children eclipsed the $100 million mark in charitable giving in 2015, becoming the fourth PGA TOUR event to do so. Raising a record $12 million in 2018, the tournament has now contributed more than $138 million to hundreds of worthy charities.

Brooks Koepka

Media Contacts

Stephanie Sage
Director of Marketing & Community Relations

210.345.3839 office

Lee Patterson
Media Director

704.553.4790 mobile