Valero Texas Open
Rickie Fowler Confirms Return
To The Valero Texas Open This Spring

The Valero Texas Open is pleased to announce that Rickie Fowler will return to compete in San Antonio April 2-5.

Last year marked Fowler’s first time at the Valero Texas Open. He was tied for second through 36 holes before finishing tied for 17th in the overall standings after four rounds. The following week at the Masters Tournament, Fowler finished 9th.

“I enjoyed playing the Texas Open for the first time last year,” said Fowler. “And when you see the impact Valero and the tournament makes each year on charity, it’s easy to want to come back and support.”

Fowler’s first two career PGA TOUR victories were won in playoffs against major championship winners. He defeated Rory McIlroy in a playoff at the 2012 Wells Fargo Championship and in 2015 birdied the first playoff hole to defeat eventual 2017 Masters champion Sergio Garcia at The Players Championship. Last year, he won the Waste Management Phoenix Open for his fifth career title.

“It’s great to welcome Rickie to the tournament for the second year in a row,” said Larson Segerdahl, Valero Texas Open Executive Director. “He is a fan favorite wherever he plays and that is certainly the case here in San Antonio.”

The 2020 edition of the Valero Texas Open, returns to TPC San Antonio’s Oaks Course for the 11th year. This will be the second year of a 10-year contract extension between the PGA TOUR and Valero Energy Corporation; a deal which positions the tournament in a coveted slot on the TOUR schedule-- the week preceding the Masters Tournament.

Fowler, who is currently ranked 26th in the world, further bolsters a field that already includes World No. 1, Rory McIlroy. Other top-ranked players scheduled to compete are Abraham Ancer (No. 29) and Lee Westwood (No. 30).

Corey Conners, who last year held on for a two-stroke win over 2016 VTO champion Charley Hoffman, will return to defend his title. Conners is one of eight (8) tournament champions currently committed to the third oldest PGA TOUR event on the schedule. Among them are Andrew Landry (2018), Kevin Chappell (2017), Hoffman (2016), local star and major champion Jimmy Walker (2015), Martin Laird (2013), Brendan Steele (2011) and two-time major champion and two-time Valero Texas Open winner Zach Johnson (2008 & 2009).

Players have until Friday, March 27 at 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time to commit to the Valero Texas Open. They can withdraw from the tournament at any time.

Buy your tickets today and join us April 2-5 at the Valero Texas Open!