Valero Texas Open
Welcome Back To SchoolHonoring Heroes In Our Community
A Look Back: Night to Honor Our Heroes presented by BoeingHonoring The 2023 Volunteer of the Year
Welcome Back To School

As school is starting throughout the month, we want to wish all of the administrators, teachers, students and parents the best of luck. May the new school year kick-start fun educational adventures and inspire young minds to new heights!

Honoring Heroes In Our Community
The Valero Texas Open hosted Happy Hour for Heroes on Thursday, June 29. This event was held to acknowledge the sponsors who supported this year's Night to Honor Our Heroes presented by Boeing military appreciation gala, and to celebrate the military-focused charitable organizations who benefitted from this year's event. The intimate gathering was held at the Fort Sam Houston Golf Course Clubhouse where more than $236,000 in net proceeds from Night to Honor Our Heroes were distributed to sixteen charitable recipients.

"The Valero Texas Open has always believed in actions speaking louder than words when it comes to supporting the military here in Military City USA. Everything from providing a free pavilion on a marque hole for veterans and their families to watch world-class golf," explained COL (R) John Lamoureux, and this year's Valero Texas Open Military Affairs Committee Chair, "to generous donations for organizations that support the entire military community, both past and present. They always put the military as a priority every year during one of the best PGA TOUR tournaments in the country."


A Look Back: Night to Honor Our Heroes presented by Boeing
With over 1,250 guests comprised of active and veteran military representing all ranks and branches, wounded veterans, and corporate partners, the twelfth annual Night to Honor Our Heroes presented by Boeing was held on Friday, March 31.

The evening's host and lead anchor for NBC Sports, Dan Hicks led a fire-side chat with Head Football Coaches Brent Venables (University of Oklahoma) and Jeff Traylor (University of Texas at San Antonio) and ESPN & ABC In-Game Analyst Dan Mullen.


Others that participated in the program included:

StarPresentation of Colors by Joint Base San Antonio Joint Color Guard
StarNational Anthem performed by SrA Michelle Rajotte, USAF
StarNational Anthem performed by 323rd Army Band "Fort Sam's Own"
StarDrill team presentation by John Jay High School Air Force JROTC
StarActive military perspective was shared by LTG John R. Evans, Jr., Commander, ARNOTH and Senior Commander, Ft. Sam Houston and Camp Bullis
Mark your calendar to join us for next year's Night to Honor Our Heroes presented by Boeing on Friday, April 5, 2024!


Honoring The 2023 Volunteer of the Year
Tom Mabe Volunteer of the Year Award recipient, Greg Klemm, with VTO Executive Director Larson Segerdahl.
On May 20 the Valero Texas Open showed its appreciation for the volunteer Tournament Leadership Council (TLC) at its annual Appreciation Banquet. An important part of the ceremony included the presentation to this year's "Tom Mabe Volunteer of the Year Award" recipient, Greg Klemm.

Klemm was assigned to hole 18 all weekend and despite the weather delays and long days, he showed unwavering dedication and commitment to his job and leading 13 volunteers. Without hesitation, we could always count on Klemm to stay and help prep for the next day. If one's character is a collection of traits that shape a person's image and personality, we quickly recognized his untiring work ethic, reliability, positive attitude and passion for volunteerism. Klemm cares about the little things and hopes they make difference in the lives of the fans, volunteers, and his team. He has been a dedicated Valero Texas Open volunteer for 16 years.

"I am honored to represent the volunteer community in 2023. Being a part of a dedicated and supportive team, having a voice, and putting everything into action are the most exciting things year after year. Every volunteer makes a difference and together we do so much. I look forward to the future and connecting with others who share my passion for the Valero Texas Open," said Klemm upon being presented the award.

Tom Mabe, the award's namesake, was a longtime Valero Texas Open volunteer who worked with players, fans, caddies and tournament officials for decades as a proud member of the TLC. An American hero, retired from the US Army after being stationed in Germany and fighting in Korea and Vietnam, Mabe sadly lost his battle with cancer during tournament week of 2014.

To celebrate Mabe's memory and his vast contributions to the Valero Texas Open over the span of 30 years, the Tournament Staff, along with the TLC, established in 2015 the "Tom Mabe Volunteer of the Year Award."

A charitable donation of $1,000 was made in Klemm's honor to a charity close to his heart, Morgan's Wonderland.
As Volunteer of the Year, Klemm was awarded with a Valero Texas Open gift package including a two night stay and spa package at the JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort and Spa, complimentary volunteer registration and premium parking for next year's tournament. In addition, a charitable donation of $1,000 was made in Klemm's honor to a charity close to his heart, Morgan's Wonderland. Klemm, along with his wife and the TLC members that nominated Klemm recently presented Morgan's Wonderland with the donation.

In addition, Klemm will receive a replica of the Valero Texas Open tournament trophy; a symbol of appreciation for his significant impact on the Tournament. The Tom Mabe Volunteer of the Year Award perpetual trophy now includes Klemm's name and will be proudly displayed year-round in the Valero Texas Open offices as a reminder of the importance of Volunteers to the success of the tournament. In addition, the perpetual trophy will be exhibited in the Volunteer Headquarters at the annual Valero Texas Open.

Each Tournament Leadership Council committee designated a volunteer of the year from their respective team that was then nominated for the Tom Mabe Volunteer of the Year. All Committee Volunteer of the Year nominees attended the annual TLC Banquet, where the winner was then announced. After much review and deliberation of the nominees, Klemm was announced as the eighth recipient of the "Tom Mabe Volunteer of the Year Award." Greg Brueland was the inaugural "Tom Mabe Volunteer of the Year Award" recipient in 2015 followed by Gerry Hagar (2016), Lisa Leong (2017), Barbara Zakrison (2018), Jenny Fischer (2019), Mike Murray (2021), and Sherry King (2022).


Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image Image Image Image Image