Valero Texas Open
Congratulations Akshay Bhatia!
Sunday Notes
1Akshay Bhatia63706867-5-20268
2Denny McCarthy68706763-9-20268
3Rory McIlroy69707266-6-11277
4Russell Henley69697169-3-10278

Akshay Bhatia
Denny McCarthy

Playoff Notes

StarWith a birdie-4 on the first playoff hole (No. 18), Akshay Bhatia defeats Denny McCarthy to win the Valero Texas Open
StarMarks the 16th playoff at the Valero Texas Open, but first since the event moved to TPC San Antonio in 2010
StarPrior to Sunday, the last playoff at the event was won by Zach Johnson in 2009
StarFourth playoff of the season
StarPlayoff records: Bhatia (2-0), McCarthy (0-2)
Akshay Bhatia (1st/-20)

StarPicks up his second PGA TOUR victory in his 54th start at the age of 22 years, 2 months, 7 days; both wins have come in playoffs (2023 Barracuda Championship, 2024 Valero Texas Open)
StarMoves to No. 12 in the FedExCup standings and is now fully exempt through the 2026 PGA TOUR season
StarEarns final spot in next week's Masters Tournament and entry into the four remaining Signature Events this season
StarBecomes the first Drive, Chip and Putt participant to play in the Masters; participated in the inaugural Drive, Chip and Putt National Finals in 2014, finishing sixth place overall in the boys 12-13 age group
StarDespite holding the outright lead after the first three rounds and a share of the lead at the end of regulation, the victory isn't considered an official wire-to-wire win since it went to a playoff
StarWins in first attempt with the 54-hole lead/co-lead and in his third start at the event (MC/2021, T46/2023, 1st/2024)
StarFirst lefthander to win the Valero Texas Open since Eric Axley in 2006; first lefthander to win on TOUR since he (Barracuda Championship) and Brian Harman (Open Championship) did so on the same day in July of 2023
Star268 equals the lowest 72-hole score since the event moved to TPC San Antonio in 2010 (Corey Conners/2019/won, Denny McCarthy/2024/2nd)
StarRecords his first top-10 finish in his 10th start of the season, with a T11 at last week's Texas Children's Houston Open his previous best outing; now has six top-20 finishes this season
StarLed the field in Strokes Gained: Tee to Green (18.780) and Strokes Gained: Approach the Green (8.225)
Denny McCarthy (2nd/-20)

StarSeeking his first PGA TOUR victory in his 174th start, finishes runner-up for the second time, both playoff losses (fell to Viktor Hovland at the 2023 Memorial Tournament presented by Workday)
StarSets the back nine scoring record at TPC San Antonio with an 8-under 28 (previous: 29/Trey Mullinax/R3/2018)
StarFourth 28 this season and first since Erik van Rooyen at the Cognizant Classic in The Palm Beaches (R4/front nine)
StarClosed his round with seven consecutive birdies (Nos. 12-18); the last player to birdie the final seven holes of regulation and go on to win was Kevin Streelman at the 2014 Travelers Championship
StarPrevious-best birdie streak was six in a row at the 2021 Butterfield Bermuda Championship (Nos. 2-7/R4) 92 putts equals the fewest on record (1983-present) in PGA TOUR history (David Frost/2005 RBC Heritage)
StarMarks his first top-10 finish on TOUR since the 2023 RSM Classic (T5)
StarBest finish in five starts at the Valero Texas Open (T20/2018, MC/2019, T34/2021, T18/2022, 2nd/2024)
StarLed the field in Strokes Gained: Around the Green (7.929), Sand Saves (4/4), Scrambling (25/29)
Miscellaneous notes

StarRory McIlroy (3rd/-11) picks up his first top-10 finish of the season, after entering the week with a streak of five starts to start the season without a top-10, his longest such streak since 2010; in 2010 in his first season as a member, he won the Wells Fargo Championship in his sixth start for his first career PGA TOUR title
StarFour-time PGA TOUR winner Russell Henley (4th/-10) picks up his third fourth-place finish of the season (Sony Open in Hawaii/T4, Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard/T4, Valero Texas Open/4th)
StarTwo-time Valero Texas Open champion Corey Conners finishes T25 in bid to become the first player since World War II to earn his first three wins at the same event
Star2016 Valero Texas Open champion Charley Hoffman finishes T69 in his 500th PGA TOUR start
Rory McIlroy
Ludvig Åberg, Russell Henley, Hideki Matsuyama

Click to view video highlights.

Thank You
Help us congratulate Akshay Bhatia as the 2024 Valero Texas Open champion. None of this, however, would have been possible if it were not for the steadfast support of our corporate partners, volunteers, fans and spectators, and the greater San Antonio community. We did it! On behalf of the Valero Texas Open and Valero Energy Corporation, we would like to extend our sincere gratitude and appreciation for your help in making the 2024 Valero Texas Open the best yet.



Tournament Week Highlights
Sunday at the VTOHighlights From The Week


Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image