Latest News

February 27, 2017

Charley Hoffman Set To Defend Title; Numerous TOUR Stars Already Committed

Current PGA Championship Winner, 2015 Valero Texas Open Champion & Local Hero Jimmy Walker To Compete In San Antonio’s Historical PGA TOUR Event

SAN ANTONIO, TX – Tournament officials announced at the event’s annual Media Day this afternoon some early player commitments including the return of last year’s champion Charley Hoffman, for the 2017 Valero Texas Open, scheduled for April 20-23 at TPC San Antonio’s AT&T Oaks Course.

Hoffman made a ten-foot birdie putt on his 72nd hole Sunday to hold off San Antonio native Patrick Reed for a one-stroke victory. In his 11th consecutive start at the Valero Texas Open, Hoffman captured his fourth PGA TOUR victory. Hoffman has never missed a cut in the tournament, has five top-ten finishes and has only finished outside the top-15 one time in San Antonio.

“Charley’s dramatic victory on the final hole, after starting the day two strokes back, was another thrilling moment in Valero Texas Open history,” said the tournament’s Executive Director Larson Segerdahl. “It was so rewarding to see his consistency in this tournament finally payoff with a victory.”

Hoffman is one of eight champions of the past decade committed to the third oldest PGA TOUR event on the schedule.

Among them is World No. 21 Jimmy Walker, the reigning PGA Championship winner, who won the 2015 Valero Texas Open. The Boerne, TX resident’s victory at the PGA Championship was his sixth career victory and marked four consecutive years he has recorded at least one victory during a season.

Other champions joining Hoffman and Walker in the field are Justin Leonard (2000, 2001 and 2007), Zach Johnson (2008, 2009), Brendan Steele (2011), who is currently 5th in the FedExCup standings, Ben Curtis (2012), Martin Laird (2013), who is currently 20th in the FedExCup standings and Steven Bowditch (2014).

The tournament has also received commitments from World No. 18 Branden Grace, a seven-time winner on the European Tour who won the RBC Heritage on the PGA TOUR last year, as well as Northern Ireland’s 2010 U.S. Open champion Graeme McDowell. In addition, World No. 31 J.B. Holmes and 2014 FedExCup champion Billy Horschel and the dynamic European team Ryder Cup competitor Ian Poulter on the list of early commitments.

Beau Hossler, a 21-year-old, who turned professional after his junior year at the University of Texas, has accepted a sponsor exemption from tournament officials. Last year, Hossler was ranked No.2 in the world among amateurs. As a 17-year-old he qualified for a second straight year to compete in the 2012 U.S. Open, held the lead after the second round and finished tied for 29th.

This initial collection of players has accumulated six major championships and 58 PGA TOUR wins.

Players have until Friday, April 14 at 5:00 p.m. Eastern time to commit to the Valero Texas Open. They can withdraw from the tournament at any time.

Tickets are currently on sale. Please visit for all details.


Valero Energy Corporation, through its subsidiaries, is an international manufacturer and marketer of transportation fuels and other petrochemical products. Valero subsidiaries employ approximately 10,000 people, and its assets include 15 petroleum refineries with a combined throughput capacity of approximately 3 million barrels per day, 11 ethanol plants with a combined production capacity of 1.4 billion gallons per year and renewable diesel production from a joint venture. Through subsidiaries, Valero owns the general partner of Valero Energy Partners LP (NYSE: VLP), a midstream master limited partnership. Approximately 7,400 outlets carry the Valero, Diamond Shamrock, Shamrock, and Beacon brands in the United States; Ultramar in Canada; and Texaco in the United Kingdom and Ireland. Valero is a Fortune 500 company based in San Antonio. Please visit for more information.


The Valero Texas Open is the 6th oldest professional tournament in golf world-wide, the 3rd oldest on the PGA TOUR and the longest held in the same city. In 2012, the tournament celebrated its 90th anniversary.

Its list of champions includes some of the greatest names in golf history: Walter Hagen, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, Sam Snead, Arnold Palmer, Ben Crenshaw, Hale Irwin, Lee Trevino, Nick Price, Justin Leonard, Zach Johnson, Adam Scott, Jimmy Walker and 2018 champion Andrew Landry, to name a few.

Since Valero became title sponsor in 2002, the tournament has become a leader in charitable fundraising among PGA TOUR events. The Valero Texas Open together with the Benefit for Children eclipsed the $100 million mark in charitable giving in 2015, becoming the fourth PGA TOUR event to do so. Raising a record $12 million in 2018, the tournament has now contributed more than $138 million to hundreds of worthy charities.

Charley Hoffman, Larson Segerdahl, Gary Simmons

Media Contacts

Stephanie Sage
Director of Marketing & Community Relations

210.345.3839 office

Lee Patterson
Media Director

704.553.4790 mobile